Penne Rosa (a “copycat” similar to at Noodles and Co)

Penne Rosa is my absolute favorite pasta dish. And I’ve tried so many times to make it at home, make it taste exactly (or almost exactly) like the restaurant, and well it sadly just doesn’t work. But I think this is as close as I’ll get, and frankly, I think I’m happy with it!

Ingredients
1 28 (or somewhere around there) oz can tomato sauce
Scant 1/4 cup white wine
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 teaspoons italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 small onion, chopped
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 lb. of desired pasta (I use rigatoni, but as the title goes, you usually use penne)

Over medium high heat, with a little bit of olive oil, soften the onion and garlic. Add the white wine and bring to a boil. I do this first because I don’t like wine at all. And this help me guarantee that the alcohol flavor is cooked out. I let it simmer for a few minutes and then add the tomato sauce. Once this starts to simmer, I add the seasonings (italian, oregano, red pepper). Then I let it simmer for about a half hour, stirring occasionally.
You can always add a little more, or not use as much of each of the seasonings, I think it completely up to personal preference.
This is where I would start the pasta. Cook according to box directions.
Once it’s seasoned to your liking, add in the cream, and make sure the heat is on low. I let this all meld together, stirrring occasionally, for about 10 minutes.
Once the noodles are drained, I toss them into the pot with the sauce, and serve with a bit of fresh chopped parsley. Sometimes I add a grilled chicken breast.
 And its so good. It helps me not be sad that I can’t afford to go to Noodles and Co. to get this.
But you could just tell me what kind of cookies/cupcakes/cakes you want, and I’ll bake it for you, and it will be a wonderful price 🙂

Leave a Reply

