Baked Mostaccoli

This was my favorite, but that just might be because I have a soft spot for it. I love this. Any buffet that has it, I eat it! I changed it up a bit, but all in all, it tasted pretty much the same. And finally, my mom let me make the sauce, so I know have a delicious recipe for homemade tomato/meat sauce.

Ingredients
-Beef neck bones
-1 lb. ground beef
– 3 large cans of crushed tomatoes
-2 tablespoons of tomato paste
-salt, pepper, oregano, and italian seasonings to taste
-1 lb. box of mostaccoli
-1/2 bag of shredded mozzarella cheese

Pour all the tomato products into a large pot, drop in the neck bones, and bring it to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and let it simmer away for about 2 hours, stirring every once and awhile. Also, during this time, brown the ground beef, breaking it up into small pieces.

Remove the bones, let them cool, and then remove any beef from the bones and drop in the pot. Also, at this time, drop in the ground beef. Season the sauce with the salt, pepper, oregano, and italian seasonings. Let it simmer for another half hour, or longer. It won’t hurt it, just make sure you stir it.

Next, cook the mostaccoli noodles until they are ALMOST al dente. Drain. In a casserole pan, dump the noodles in and pour in as much sauce as you want. Then top with the mozzarella cheese. Bake at 400F for about 15-20 minutes, until the cheese is browning.

Under the cheese, I had been making some meatballs for another dish, and chopped some up and put it on top of the pasta, but under the cheese. I love me some meat, so the more the better!

Leave a Reply

