Lemon Sugar Cake

This is an old recipe my mom has on a notecard and the recipe was typed on…with a typed writer! I’m not much of a lemon fan, but my mom is, and so are her parents (my grandparents!) and since they’re coming over for Easter, I made it.
You start with a boxed lemon cake. I don’t remember what brand I bought, but any should do. The recipe said 1/3 cup water and a 1/3 cup oil. I wanted to give this cake more flavor, so I used lemon juice instead of water, and zested 3 lemons into the batter. Also, no matter what the box says, put in 4 eggs. Blend the cake mix with all the other ingredients for approximately 3 minutes on low.

 We used a bundt pan (make sure you flour it!) and it took about 30 minutes in a 300 degree oven. For the glaze, its just two cups of confectioner’s sugar and 1/3 cup of lemon juice. Let the cake sit for about 20 minutes, then poke holes in the cake and glaze.

Leave a Reply

