BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches and Onion Rings

So today was the “big game” (that ended up in big disappointment….) and I wanted to make my fam something for it. I’ve been craving pulled pork sandwiches for awhile now, so I finally got to make them.

First we started out with a pork roast, seasoned with salt, pepper, and Mrs. Dash (I think the “onion and herbs” one…) and it cooked in the slowcooker for about 5 hours. My mom put it in, and it was kinda dry, so you could probably cook it for less time, but once we basted it, and put the BBQ sauce on it, it was delish.

I also made some onion rings. And let me tell you this first: My dad pretty much went apeshit over them. He loved them. I, on the other hand, if they were served at a restaurant, I wouldn’t order them again. I’m really picky when it comes to onion rings, and for me the coating was too thick, and didn’t have much flavor besides the beer. I was thinking of using this recipe, and cut down the beer, and maybe add some milk, and some garlic powder, and maybe less flour, and add some panko? I don’t know, but I do need to play around with it. Needless to say, it was a hit with my parents, so don’t be afraid to try this recipe. If you actually know me, you would know that when it comes to food, I am picky as helllllllllll!

Ingredients

  • Oil, for frying
  • 2 large sweet onions, cut into 1/2-inch thick rings, thin skins removed
  • 1 1/2 cups flour, plus more, for dredging
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup beer (use enough until you get pancake batter consistency)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more for seasoning
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Fill a large Dutch oven or fryer with oil and preheat to 350 degrees F.

Sift dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl and make a well in the center. Crack the egg yolk into a separate bowl and break it up with a fork. Add this to the well in the middle of the flour and slowly pour in the beer as you whisk. Gradually make wider circles with the whisk to incorporate the dry ingredients from the edges – this will minimize the chance of lumps. Continue until all the dry ingredients are mixed and the batter is of a smooth consistency.

Sorry it's blurry!

Take the onion rings and remove the thin membrane found between the layers; (otherwise the batter won’t stick as well). In a large dish add some rice flour, and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Coat each ring in the flour. Dip in the batter and fry in hot oil in batches until golden. Drain on paper towels and season with salt.

Don’t worry, before we go to Kerri’s for AJ’s first birthday (where I am the caterer!) I’ll be making more…I had already started to cut the onion, and I don’t think it’ll last until we get back…unless I cut the rings now, and then freeze it (which I might end up doing in a day or two…)

Leave a Reply

