Beef Bourguignon…uhm, Christi and wine?

My friend Becky texted me in the middle of the week last week and asked me if I wanted to come over and cook with her on Friday. Uhm, me turn down an opportunity to cook? That pretty much never happens…except maybe in my own house, after class, when I’m starving and its 9pm. But that’s just because it’s me…LAZY!

It was fun because not only did we make something that I’ve never made before, but we also made homemade pasta. With a roller. Not me using a rolling pin like a crazy person and stretching the dough as thin as I can with my hands. haha. A real life pasta roller. ūüôā
Also, we made bacon to top it off, and to use the fat to cook the beef and veggies. I’m pretty sure the fact that we used a pack and a half of bacon (you know, whatever size bacon comes in. The standard “pack”…) Why so much? Uhm because both LOVE bacon. Words cannot express how much I love bacon. I’m pretty sure that I could eat bacon with every meal. Maybe AS every meal. Pathetic? Maybe. Delicious? DEFINITELY.

First we started off using a recipe from “The Joy of Cooking”…but then modified it a bit, and used a lot from Tyler Florence. So the recipe I put on here isn’t going to be exactly what we made, but close enough.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 bacon slices, cut into 3-inch strips (obviously we used WAY more than this…)¬†
  • 4 pounds beef chuck or round, cut into 2-inch cubes
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 small can of crushed tomatoes (I don’t remember the oz. sorry!)¬†
  • 1/2 cup¬†all-purpose flour¬†¬†
  • About a half of a bottle of red wine¬†
  • 6¬†cups low-sodium beef broth
  • Bouquet garni (2 fresh rosemary sprigs, 8 fresh thyme sprigs, 2 bay leaves, tied together with kitchen twine or tied in cheesecloth¬†[we used dry rosemary and thyme which we just threw into the¬†pot. Also used two bay leaves but remember you must remove them!!])¬†
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 pound white mushrooms, stems trimmed
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped

    First, we chopped all the meat and veggies and set them aside.

    In a pan, we slowly rendered down the bazillion pounds of bacon until it was crispy. I picked pieces out of the pot, I love it that much, I risk third-degree burns…

    Then we fried the beef cubes in the bacon fat until brown on all sides (but not thoroughly cooked), then set them aside. In the pot we added the tomato paste and flour, whisking the two together as we added the red wine and beef stock, over medium-high heat.  Add the beef and the herbs to the pot, bring to a boil, then put the heat on low and let it simmer for about an hour.

  • During this hour was when Becky and I started to make the pasta. I had some semolina flour at home, and we just used the recipe on the back of the bag. Sorry I don’t have it here! Let me tell you, this was a process…but it was totally worth it. The pasta looked amazing, and tasted amazing too.

    In a small skillet, over medium-low, heat a little olive oil. Add the garlic and mushrooms and cook until the mushrooms start to brown, about, about 4 to 5 minutes.
    Add the onions and cook until onions are heated through. Uncover the pot and add the mushroom mixture along with a pinch of sugar to balance out the acid from the red wine. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Turn the heat up slightly and simmer for 45 minutes longer, until the vegetables and meat are tender. Remove the bouquet garni, or just the bay leaves, depending on how you herb-ed it. haha.

    So I know I could have done a wayyyy better job with pictures, considering you see none of the actual stew. But I honestly just got caught up in the pasta. I was all about making the pasta, ya know cranking the…. crank…and cutting it, and such. I took a ton of pictures of the pasta, if you’d like to see more haha. Just none of the Beef Bourguignon. I promise, I’ll cook something delicious this week, and take magnificent photos!

    And I’m pretty sure this is the last post from the weekend. I think. If not, well you’ll just get another one. That makes up for the lack of posting for over a week, right?

    Leave a Reply

