I’m back! And with PLENTY of posts!

Sorry I took so long. I was just lazy all weekend, besides the cooking/baking I did. Right now I’m making Puppy Chow, so I’ll post that, but I’ll also post something else, and then throughout the week, I’ll post the other recipes I made this weekend. I think there’s five….?

Puppy chow is one of those snacks that remind you of your childhood. It’s something I’ve made for as long as I can remember. I’ve even made it for my two-year old nephew, MattMatt. Which is a story that cracks me up. I’ll tell you, just because this recipe is very easy, and this post will be short.

He REALLY wants his puppy chow!

It was June 2009, right before my sister, MattMatt and I made the trek to Washington, D.C. for the day. I was totally craving some Puppy Chow, so I decided to make some. I ended up making a huge batch because everyone in the house would be eating it. It was late; we left the bowl on the table, uncovered 😦 and went to bed. MattMatt woke up EXTRA early the next morning, and, since he was sleeping with me, I was the one who was supposed to take care of him. So we go in the living room and watch cartoons. I fall asleep while he plays with toys in front of the TV. Bad babysitter, I know. Every once and awhile, I’m conscious of the fact that he keeps coming over to me on the couch, and I remember him looking dusty. (hint hint, everyone knows what happens!)  I finally wake up, and go into the kitchen to get a glass of water and see what MattMatt is up to. And guess what?

Oh yea, you guessed it. The huge bowl is on the floor, and MattMatt is just going to town eating it. Covered in powdered sugar. To me, it was hilarious, my sister and her floor? Maybe not so much…Too bad I never got a picture.

Anyways, here’s the recipe.

5 cups of crispy rice cereal squares
¼ cup of peanut butter
¾ cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup powdered sugar

Over low heat, melt the chocolate and peanut butter together, stirring constantly.

 Remove from heat, add to cereal, and stir until coated. For this part, I use this huge mixing bowl my mom has, and continually toss the bowl as someone else drizzled in the chocolate/peanut butter mixture.

Then I throw the powdered sugar in a big ziplock bag, toss in the chocolate covered cereal, close the bag, and shake until coated well.

Then pig out!

Leave a Reply

